top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Tangible Memories

A week ago, my son was at my house and he found a banner of photos my mom had used as a decoration at his sip-n-see when he was a baby. It was 10 photos of him and one or two of them were of me pregnant with him. He started going through them and I told him some stories about those photos and he was in heaven. He played with them the entire weekend.


It occurred to me that aside from a few framed photos, he doesn’t have any tangible photos to look at. I have THOUSANDS of photos of this child, and yet, he’s never flipped through them tangibly before.

I’ve also never taken the time to burn a DVD for him of baby videos so he’s never seen any videos of himself as an infant or of us interacting with him.


This gave me the best gift idea ever: a photo album! Shutterfly often does “free” prints (they end up being $.10 each for shipping) or free photobooks- follow their Facebook page to be notified when they’re doing it. But how simple and gratifying to be able to gift my son memories that I captured for a reason and just have sitting on a hard drive!

As a child, my parents would put in a tape of home videos and we would watch them for hours. It was so fun and I hope I can create that same experience for my son.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page