top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Microblading Brows: JUST DO IT

Flashback to year 2000 when skinny, rounded brows were all the rage. I was that girl. Fast-toward to 2019 when my brows were now splotchy from all that tweezing and waxing. Splotchy brows weren’t trendy though so I spent YEARS shadowing-in my brows. It was time-consuming and they still didn’t look like I wanted them to.


I knew I was the perfect candidate for microblading because it would fill in my brow bald spots and still look like natural hairs. I love that with micro blades brows, you still have the option to shadow or ombré brows whenever you want a more dramatic look! The hard part was starting to research a great artist that I could trust with my face. My must-haves in an artist were:

-Great photos from previous clients.

-Super-clean workspace and procedures.

-Good pricing AND quality work.

After a lot of research, I chose to have Jenna from Elegant Brows take on the task. She exceeded my expectations.

What is microblading?

It is a technique of tattooing for eyebrows to create the look of more hairs. A special mutli-tipped blade tool is used to make tiny incisions with ink. You should be numb throughout the procedure (my amazing artist used a numbing cream- not injections) and won’t feel it. Some artists don’t numb so ask about that!


How do I know I’ll love the shape?

Mapping. A great artist will take a lot of time to map your brows so they end up PERFECT for you. I was totally involved in my mapping process. It’s a little time-consuming but the most important part of the process.

After mapping, you’ll get numbed and the microblading will begin. It’s an art. It shouldn’t be quick. You should be sitting up occasionally to check the symmetry with gravity. Don't rush the process. Don’t choose an artist who says the appointment will last an hour. This is going on your face!!!

What’s the healing process like?

Immediately after the procedure, once an hour, for four hours, you should be gently dabbing your fresh brows with a cotton round and distilled or bottled water. That prevents excessive scabbing.

Avoid all water exposure and excessive sweating for two weeks- washing brows in any capacity, pools, saunas, etc.

My artist provided a cosmetic tattoo after-gel that I applied morning and night to assist with the healing. It is miraculous!

My worst days of scab peeling were days 8 through 11. Honestly, my scabbing wasn’t obvious at all and my peeling was minimal. I didn’t mess with them at all. If a scab was loose, I would gently brush my brows. My skin was a little peely around my brows for a couple days too- probably due to the entire process.

Do I need touchups?

Yes- after the initial procedure, you should have an initial touchup at 4-8 weeks. That will add pigment and make your brows flawless. This appointment is usually extremely affordable or included in your initial price. The healing process is the same as the initial appointment but the touchup process is quicker since there’s not major mapping involved.


It’s also recommended to have a yearly touchup to keep your color fresh. To prolong the color, avoid sun exposure without sunscreen. Everyone will experience a degree of fading but it varies based on a variety of things.


My makeup process is so fast now that my brows are done. I wish I’d done this years ago! My brows look so natural and I couldn’t be more happy with the entire process and results.


This experience is completely my own and your results could vary. I did partner with my artist for a discounted rate in exchange for documenting my experience but I did choose her talent completely on my own accord and highly recommend her!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page