top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Budgeting for Vacations

My soul was made to wander and nothing excites me more than an upcoming trip. Traveling can really eat into a budget so I am going to share a few ways that I have found to save funds for a getaway and some small tricks that can help minimize expenses.



1. Purchase like a minimalist

Before heading to the checkout think to yourself, "Do I need this? If I do not buy it, will I regret not having it tomorrow?" A lot of my spending habits came from peer pressure- mainly on social media. I would see people decorating for the holidays and get inspired to drop $300 at Hobby Lobby. The thing I realized was that those things don't bring me the same joy that traveling does. Every single time I get home from a trip, I think to myself, "I'm not buying anything so I have the money to do that again!"


2. Cut out gifts

As the holidays approach, most families are looking at ads and planning the best sales to maximize their holiday budget and make the most magical Christmas morning for their children. Here is where I challenge you: Minimize the gifts. Maximize the experiences. Tons of toys gives me anxiety so I have found that by saving in this area, it helps my home organization and my travel budget!


3. Skip the Starbucks and manicure

Consistent expenses add up in a huge way. Gym memberships, monthly subscription boxes, eating out for lunch, dog grooming, and other similar, routine costs end up costing hundreds of dollars a month. Cutting back on those goes a long way and can basically pay for a trip!



4. Travel wisely

Skimp on the souvenirs and splurge on the experiences. I was blessed to sit in the Sistine Chapel in the Vatican Museum ALONE but I think the only souvenir I purchased in Rome was a Pinocchio ornament. Guess what I remember? Sitting in the Sistine Chapel alone (for those of you who haven't visited the Vatican, there are typically thousands of people in there at one time). It's also smart to buy souvenirs off the beaten path. The closer you get to a main attraction, the more the price increases. Barter- even barter for cheaper tours or taxi rides. Do more things and minimize the fine dining. Consider buying provisions to make sandwiches or pastries for breakfast instead of eating that meal out every day. Travel to places where the US Dollar goes further! These little tricks add up.


5. When cruising, take advantage of prebooking

Most cruise lines offer some sort of future discount if you book a trip or a placeholder during a cruise. Disney offers 10% off a future cruise when you book a placeholder onboard. The placeholder is $250 which is a deposit towards that trip. If you don't book in two years, they refund you automatically. What do you have to lose!?


6. Minimize pre-trip prep

What happens before a trip? You get this sudden urge to buy new outfits, new tiny toiletries, get your nails done, and a spray tan. How much does that cost you? $200+?! Paint your own nails. Create new outfits with what you have. Cut the costs! Stay focused on how far that money could go on your trip!


7. Skip the spa

Spas at resorts and on cruise ships are 3 times as pricey as your neighborhood day spa. I always schedule a massage with my local gal the day I get back from a trip. Gives me a little something to look forward to and I know I'm saving $100+. Plus, she's reliably great!

8. Ditch the kids

Buying airfare or cruisefare for kids adds up quickly and probably takes away from the magic in some ways. I'm not saying never travel with your kids- I take mine all over the world! Just consider the savings of being able to take a more affordable adult trip occassionally.


9. Load up your room

Taking a girls' trip? Pack 'em in tight and make the most of your space! Moms are usually amazing travelers- very courteous, organized... basically they make the best roommates ever and they'll have hand sanitizer when you need it!



10. Set aside a savings

When you get your paycheck, tithe to Jesus first and then tithe to traveling second! It doesn't have to be a big amount: even $50 a month can get you a roadtrip each year. Make setting the money aside a habit.


Some trips cost more than others but finding ways to be wise with your money can really stretch your dollar and allow you to experience more amazing places that this world has to offer!





0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page